A Turn In These Times

December 5, 2016

When I began this blog in the spring of 2010, my intention was to write mostly about higher education matters.  I’ve largely stuck to that.  Most of the exceptions have to do with satisfying my curiosity about word etymology.

Over the last year or two, I’ve written less in this place.  I am further in both time and place from college and university life, and other concerns have captured my attention.  I also blog about religious/Quaker matters, for example, at River View Friend.  And I am more heavily involved in discussions of the future of Topsham, Maine, where I live.  And now this country has elected a most unsuitable President.

I’ve considered laying down this blog, but I’m now resolved, instead, to widen its focus.  This blog has largely served as a public journal, a place to record my thoughts, to share them with others if they should be interested, and to hold myself accountable by giving myself a way to see whether I still agree with things I’ve written months or years ago.

I’ll still write occasionally about higher education matters, but beginning now and for an indefinite future, the Observatory will concern itself with a broader spectrum of concerns.

 

About Doug Bennett

Doug Bennett is Emeritus President and Professor of Politics at Earlham College. He has a wife, Ellen, and two sons, Tommy (born 1984) and Robbie (born 2003).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

