Stepping Out After 14 Years

August 4, 2010

Today I’m announcing that this coming year, my fourteenth, will be my last year as Earlham’s President.

I’m feeling the jumble of emotions I expected I might — and more.  I love this position, and feel honored to have had the opportunity.  But I also know it’s time for me to try a different pace and attend to other challenges.  I need to be more of a hands- and kisses-on Dad to Robbie (age seven) and I need to let my wonderful wife Ellen seek a position that draws on her capabilities.  I’m also yearning to live in Maine. So sadness and anticipation and a little anxiety.

As it so happens, Diana Chapman Walsh, President of Wellesley until 2007, wrote a wonderful piece in Inside Higher Education that gives me glimpses of the road ahead.

About Doug Bennett

Doug Bennett is Emeritus President and Professor of Politics at Earlham College. He has a wife, Ellen, and two sons, Tommy (born 1984) and Robbie (born 2003).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

