The Health of the Humanities

May 16, 2010

An alumnus sends me a link to a Wall Street Journal op ed piece about the importance of the liberal arts, and especially the Humanities, and about the current low regard in which the Humanities are held.

I often receive such e-mails from this alumnus; they are almost always suggestions that I read something from the Wall Street Journal editorial page.

I write back about my time at Effat University, a place where the liberal arts and sciences have a fresh, breath-taking urgency.  And I write that I am now in Greece under the shadow of the Parthenon, trodding the ground that Socrates walked, soon to be joined by twenty Earlham students who will have the same experience.  I assure my friend, this Earlham alumnus, that there are places where the Humanities and the liberal arts and sciences are alive and well.

Often, but not today, I encourage this alumnus to read more broadly than just the editorial pages of the Wall Street Journal, which are worth reading, but are not all that one should read.

About Doug Bennett

Doug Bennett is Emeritus President and Professor of Politics at Earlham College. He has a wife, Ellen, and two sons, Tommy (born 1984) and Robbie (born 2003).
This entry was posted in Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

